Update

December 22, 2013 sexyknees

First of all, I wish to thank everyone for your support.  You are all loved and appreciated!  As for my recent upset, I have some news.  I write this in expectation that my experience will help others who are going through a similar situation.

In my previous post I mentioned that my significant other moved out unexpectedly.  I thought that she was angry with me and upset about the nature of our relationship.  After some discussion I understood that it was a simple matter of self-preservation.  People who suffer from schizophrenia need structure – a daily routing relatively free of stress.  The problem with my home and lifestyle is that there is very little structure and quite a bit of stress due to financial limitations, etc.  My s/o needed to leave in order to avoid a recurrence of her symptoms, which I completely understand.

I made an assessment based on observation, which isn’t always a great idea.  Things are going on in people’s heads which cannot be seen.  So, if your significant other is suffering from a mental disorder it is important to have completely open communication so that misunderstandings can be avoided.  If he or she is currently psychotic, however, there is very little you can glean from conversation, so you have little choice but to rely on observation.  Since I have not fully accepted my s/o’s recovery, it makes sense that I was still operating with my former mindset.  This time apart will give me an opportunity to get to know my girlfriend again, and the distance will help keep things in perspective.  

So, my suggestion to fellow caregivers is to proceed with caution.  Your s/o may or may not be able to relay his or her feelings adequately, which may lead to unexpected and/or unpleasant outcomes.  He/she needs your love, support, and understanding.  Be patient and at the ready to help him/her however you can – trust me when I say that you are very much needed and dropping the ball is not an option.  Hang in there!

PS:  The above photo was taken immediately after I arrived at a recent holiday party.  Its hard to keep up appearances when you are worried, so I apologize for the lack of quality!

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Raoel  |  December 24, 2013 at 6:07 pm

    Sorry sweet Nikki:-) but i wish you an Merry Christmas with all your family and friends:-)
    Raoel your Dutchftriend, i know far away but i think at you often 🙂 xxxx

    • 2. sexyknees  |  December 28, 2013 at 6:16 pm

      Thank you so very much, Raoel! I wish you a very (belated) merry Christmas, too, and a wonderful new year!!! Thank you for being my friend and fan.

      • 3. Raoel  |  December 31, 2013 at 2:13 pm

        Ty sweet Nikki:-) send you the best wishes for the nw year:-) hope we can stay good friendsin 2014. Send you an warm hug with an friendkisss from Holland
        Raoel xxxx

  • 4. Bill FootCrazy  |  December 27, 2013 at 5:12 pm

    Great news. Love ya hun


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Flickr Photos

Im Gegenlicht

All the Colorful Stories

happiness

More Photos
 
