Nikki’s Anti-Aging Tips

August 2, 2013 sexyknees

Nikki 13 3830

As many of you might have guessed, I am not perpetually 24 (or whatever age to which I always lay claim).  Without getting too specific, I am something closer to Catherine Zeta-Jones than Taylor Swift.  Typically, when I reveal my actual age very few people believe me as I look so young.  My 20-ish complexion has kept me in the modeling game a lot longer than most, and I would like to pass on a few tips to help you look just as youthful.

A large part of my freakish “Dorian Gray” anti-aging secret is simply good genes.  Being half-Japanese really helps (as well as that portrait I keep hidden in my attic).  Beyond this non-helpful tidbit I do have a few actual suggestions which you may find useful.

1)  Don’t do as I do and avoid tanning.  Whether it be the sun or a bed, either will do damage to your skin and age you prematurely.

2)  Moisturize frequently!  Find a good moisturizer and use it every time you take a shower (or more).  Pay particular attention to typically dry areas such as your hands, feet, elbows, and knees.  I prefer Aveeno Daily Moisturizing Lotion, which costs about $8, but Target and Kroger produce knock-offs which are just as good for about half the price.

3)  Prevention is really the name of the game.  If you take care of your skin it will stay youthful-looking for far longer than if you continue to ignore it.  Many companies are now offering anti-aging products and most of them are good.  I tend to stick with Estee, which offers a trio of items which I have recently purchased and have been very satisfied.  I use Advanced Night Repair to prevent wrinkles, Time Zone face moisturizer, and Time Zone eye creme – all of which cost me about $150 every three months.  That being said, Loreal, Revlon, and other pocketbook-friendly brands have created similar products and am sure they are just as effective.

4)  Drink plenty of water.  Like most people, I don’t drink near enough water, which is especially bad since I live in eastern North Carolina where it frequently reaches 100 degrees or more in the summer and can get almost as humid as Florida.  You don’t have to go crazy, but definitely keep yourself hydrated.

5)  Keep your lips moist.  To maintain your luscious lips, use a balm such as Burt’s Bees or Blistex Lip Medex.  I’ve been using Medex for over 15 years and my lips remain just as kissable as when I was a teen!

6)  Avoid stress.  Stress can kill you, plain and simple.  Go to therapy, pick up a hobby, or do anything else which may help you avoid youth-crushing anxiety.  Life will always present troubles, but worrying about your problems will not help you solve them.  Maintaining a calm interior will go far in preventing your exterior from aging.

7)  Exercise.  Don’t overdo it, but definitely get outside and keep your body in shape.  Sweating is good for you and will keep your pores clean.

8)  Maintain a healthy diet.  I used to eat a lot of McDonalds and other fast foods and consider myself lucky that I didn’t put on an extra 20 pounds in the past 5 years.  The heaviest I have ever been was 135, and that was in the early 2000’s.  These days I stay around 115 to 120, and at my height (5’4″) I think that is a good weight.  This is all due to giving up bad food, not eating after 6pm, and making breakfast my biggest meal so I have plenty of time to work it off during the day.  You don’t have to stay away from all unhealthy food, but try to moderate.

9)  Sleep well.  A good night’s rest will help you greatly in staying young at heart and in appearance.  I am horrible about sleeping and do pretty much everything wrong.  I go to bed around 1am, I leave the lights and television on, drink a lot of water before I bedtime, sleep on the couch, and typically eat a cookie or some other snack when I have to go pee.  You can’t do worse than that.  Additionally, due to all of the above, I get about two hours of real sleep per night.  Nice, eh?  You can do much better by not doing what I do – go to bed early, don’t eat or drink before bedtime (or after), turn off all lights and other electronic devices, and have a comfortable place to sleep.

I hope you find my advice helpful.  I am only providing you suggestions which work for me – if you have something to offer which you believe is better than my anti-aging regimen please feel free to share!

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. William  |  August 2, 2013 at 11:00 pm

    Hello Nikki, I have been a reader of your blog for about two years and wanted to know how I could met you? I also live in East NC

    • 2. sexyknees  |  August 2, 2013 at 11:22 pm

      Its not too difficult once you get to know me. I’m a pretty social person but am also very careful in choosing with whom I spend my time. Tell me more about yourself at my regular email address: sexyknees18@hotmail.com. I look forward to hearing from you!

  • 3. danny mcwilliams  |  August 6, 2013 at 8:36 pm

    The Launching will be in October , I hope you will make it . I could not launch the nautilus with out you christening the boat . The Disney Nautilus is the greatest submarine ever thought of ,and , It needs a great person to christen her


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Flickr Photos

golden morning

Im Gegenlicht

All the Colorful Stories

More Photos
 
