Nikki Tanikawa on: Mental Illness

March 30, 2013 sexyknees
Tags:

As most of you know, I have been mentioning for quite some time that I have been dealing with an illness in the family.  My long delays in responding to messages, lack of new photos, and relative inactivity on my blog are all side effects due to the illness to which I refer.  It is time I elaborate – you are my fans and you deserve to know.

For the past three years my significant other has slipped into a very serious state of mental illness – most likely paranoid schizophrenia and/or bipolar.  Though very treatable, unless the individual is willing to seek help the disorder will continue to progress until the person you once knew is just as gone as though he/she had passed away.  At this point, my loved one no longer recognizes me or her family, and each day is a struggle to simply get the most basic of tasks accomplished.

I know that I am not alone.  There are so many people close to me – including family members – who suffer from mental illness, either personally or via a loved one.  For those of you who are in my shoes, you know that it is just as hard for the caretaker as it is for the one for whom you care.  As for me, I spend a lot of time crying quietly when no one is watching.

Though things have changed considerably since I was a child, there still lingers a negative image of those who have a mental disorder.  Please remember that mental illness is just like any other disease – it is not the fault of the person who bears it.  They are no different than you or I and most often live very productive and normal lives.  And again, it is very treatable.

If you have a mental disorder or have a loved one who suffers from one, I welcome you to talk with me.  I understand what you are going through and I deeply sympathize.  Also be aware that there are support groups for both sides which are highly informative, very helpful, and free.  For instance, there is the National Alliance on Mental Health (NAMI), which has been a life-saver for me in the past few months.

As always, I am here for you.  I do sincerely apologize for not being as present over the past 3 years, but I keep hoping that when my significant other finally accepts help I will be able to get back to my show, my photos, my blog, and my fans – you deserve it!  And thank you all for understanding.

 

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Flickr Photos

 
