Nikki Tanikawa on: Gun Control

January 21, 2013 sexyknees
Tags:

Nikki 68 13088

I know that this is a dated but still highly sensitive, controversial, and timely topic.  It is important for all American citizens to discuss their feelings about the issue of gun control as it affects each and every one of us.  Here are my thoughts.

The tragedy in Connecticut has touched us all.   The death of so many innocent people for reasons we will never understand prompts citizens and lawmakers alike to pursue definitive action so as to forever prevent anyone from attempting a similar act.  That being said, taking away our ability to own assault rifles will not end such bloodshed.

If an individual is determined to engage in an evil act of mass homicide, a weapon containing multiple rounds is an obvious choice.  Does this mean that the government should take away our right to bear not only assault rifles, but also hunting rifles, handguns, and any other firearm with a magazine capacity of more than one?

Murder can and will occur, and it can be accomplished just as horrifically with a sword, pipe bomb, Molotov cocktail, crossbow, spear, vehicle, crowbar, or any other weapon of choice.  Additionally, criminals will ALWAYS have access to the tools they need to carry out their terrible work.  I, for one, believe in my right to protect myself from such crime, and will do so with weapons equal to or greater than what the perpetrator brings to the table.  I will never go down without a fight, and given the opportunity will rip him/her in half before they do so to me.

What I am completely in favor of is stricter control over who is allowed to purchase firearms.  I believe that a deeper investigation should be carried out to uncover psychological instability.  I think that unnecessary items such as armor-piercing rounds or fully automatic weapons should remain in the hands of the authorities.  Personal protection classes and drills should be considered by the education system.  I also believe that concealed weapons permits should be enthusiastically pursued by the general population to even the odds and engage maniacs on a rampage – let the criminals know that we are NOT targets and will NOT submit to their acts of terror.

I am not promoting acts of vigilantism or arming the public to the teeth.  I just want to know that my right to bear arms is absolute, and that at any given moment someone nearby has a gun on-hand to help me if I am in trouble.

As always, my blog site is an open forum for people to say anything they wish (within reason).  I’d love to hear your thoughts about this issue – I’d like to know if I am seeing this the wrong way!

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. zippyjetSimon  |  January 21, 2013 at 4:15 am

    Nikki: Very eloquent! Couldn’t have said it better. Also I’m noticing the media is now blaming SSRI’s. Like anything else they need to be used in moderation but to make blanket statements saying taking them causes one to mass murder is counter productive.

  • 2. Dennis  |  January 21, 2013 at 12:55 pm

    What I have a problem with with this and many other problems in our country is the actions of 5 to 10 people that do terrible acts we are willing to take away the rights of the rest of the 312 million of us that live in this country.
    Also name one law that has stopped any crime.

    w


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Flickr Photos

Dolus D'Oléron

golden morning

Im Gegenlicht

More Photos
 
