The Good and Bad of Technology

June 5, 2012 sexyknees
Tags:

This topic is a little complicated so I will relay it as simply and succinctly as possible.  I believe that the use of cell, computer, and gaming technology is making us dumber as a species.  I am not suggesting that we abandon our modern conveniences, but rather ensure that we hang on to the old ways as long as possible.

I can’t tell you how many times I have been told that it is pointless to remember phone numbers, do mental math, or know how to start a fire without a match as we’ve evolved beyond the necessity of possessing such skills.  All we need is our smart phones, microwave ovens, etc.  If you have ever been in the checkout line at a grocery store when the power went out you witnessed first-hand the problem with that way of thinking.  The further we stray from using our brain to solve problems the dumber we become should technology fail, and such a possibility is very real.

I was born before cell phones and affordable personal computers.  We weren’t even allowed to use a calculator in math class.  We did all of our work in our minds so those of my generation and before can still operate should modern devices become unavailable.  To this day I still keep a paper backup of everything I write should my electronics die unexpectedly.  Perhaps this is going a little too far, but it is how I prefer to protect myself.

Text, IM, Facebook, etc, are wonderful conveniences – especially if you don’t want to speak with people due to a horrible hangover.  That being said, this new method of communication is taking personal interaction out of the picture.  What I have noticed is that with each new generation comes an increasing lack of social skills and a general awkwardness bordering on the sociopathic when engaged in basic conversation.  It is almost as though personal feelings are no longer a consideration as a crossed line can be easily be retracted by the simple transmission of an emoticon.  I don’t even want to get into texting lexicon and the degradation of the English language as a result, so I will gracefully avoid that topic altogether.

As for driving, I’ve noticed that the younger the driver the less concerned they are for personal safety.  I know that I was a complete dumbass when I first received my driver’s license.  For instance, I used to go out at night in my giant ’67 Bonneville and enjoy the drifting at 140mph.  In retrospect, I should have died in a fiery car crash many, many years ago.  I was lucky.  Being idiotic behind the wheel is a given when you are a new driver, but I have noticed that the chances young people are taking are growing increasingly worse.  I believe this is due to both a watered-down driver’s education curriculum and a detachment from real-life consequences.  Certain widely popular games are prepping young drivers for the road by giving them the perception that excessive mph is to be rewarded and that high-speed collisions are something from which you walk away with no repercussion.  If you doubt my words you really need to spend more time looking in your rearview mirror!

For all of you who still hold dear the old ways with which we grew up, we bear the responsibility of carrying the torch of knowledge and keeping it alive.  Though we love our modern conveniences and enjoy the extra time they provide us, we still need to remember what to do should we ever find ourselves without them and teach those younger than us the same.  We are diplomats representing a different era, ladies and gentlemen, and have a terrible burden to bear.  Our time will come, rest assured, so keep those old brains nice and juicy!

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dennis  |  June 5, 2012 at 4:09 pm

    All you need is to buy something and watch the younger generation make change.

  • 2. pink  |  August 15, 2012 at 2:43 am

    could have fun with that chair

    • 3. sexyknees  |  October 7, 2012 at 6:46 pm

      Ha! I thought the same thing when I saw it for the first time. Supposedly, it is good for your back. I didn’t stay on it long enough to find out, sadly. That being said, I welcome anyone to write me with comments on whether or not this chair is really helpful and/or comfortable after prolonged use!


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Flickr Photos

Im Gegenlicht

All the Colorful Stories

happiness

More Photos
 
