My Thoughts on the “Click It or Ticket” Law

June 5, 2012 sexyknees
Tags:

Though there are plenty of baffling antiquated laws still on record which have no application to those of us living in the 21st century, there are some fairly new laws in use of which I strongly oppose.  One example is NC’s “Click It or Ticket” wherein if you are caught driving without wearing a seatbelt you will be cited.  Though I have always worn a seatbelt when behind the wheel and find it foolish to unnecessarily risk your life by refusing to don a simple fabric restraint, I highly disagree with lawmakers creating a GS taking away our right to choose (minors , however, should always be secured).  Clearly this is a way for municipalities to gain extra revenue for worthy projects, but enough is enough.  There must be a limit to how far we allow the state to control our lives.  If I choose to be a dumbass and not wear a seatbelt it will not hurt anyone other than me (unless I get flung through the windshield and impact something of worth while in flight) as opposed to driving while impaired which undoubtedly puts others at risk.  I could go on with many other examples of how lawmakers are gradually whittling away our freedoms, some of which are in clear opposition to our declared separation of church and state, but I’ll keep these opinions to myself…for now.  I welcome your thoughts (even though it will take me forever to read them)!

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dana  |  June 8, 2012 at 12:06 am

    How about wearing a motor cycle helmet? And the no texting law? And hands free law for phones? I do allot of highway driving and you can see drivers texting and talking in the passing lane all the time. So as I pass them on the right (they drive slow since they’re busy texting/talking) I’ve almost been hit a bunch of times from them weaving or a right handed phone conversation and they can’t see you since the phone blocks their vision and they don’t turn their heads (that would interupt their conversation). And what’s the difference between texting-weaving and dialing- weaving? Laws that were meant well but don’t work.

    • 2. sexyknees  |  July 14, 2012 at 4:44 pm

      Agreed. The helmet law is another example of how the state is trying to protect us from our own stupidity, but that is where I draw the line. If someone wants to ride around swallowing bugs and run the risk of having his/her lower jaw removed by the pavement (which I have seen), then that is up to him/her, not the state. As for texting, I am completely against it while driving as it absolutely endangers others. Kinda hard to enforce that law, eh? Though I don’t text and drive, if I did I’d like to see the state prove that I was doing so while behind the wheel – especially if I had a passenger. Thoughts?


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Flickr Photos

A Wave Of Colour

Zellstruktur oder Lebenslinien.

broken star stopper

More Photos
 
