If You Must Eat Fast Food…

March 29, 2012 sexyknees
Tags:

Enjoying my fries!

Though I have pretty much given up my daily dose of fries, sweet tea, and a burger (no cheese) for carrot juice and hummus, I do occasionally indulge in my old habit while on a long drive.

Let’s face it – it is a lot more fun to pick up something unhealthy from a fast food chain than eat sandwiches from home when on a trip.  Though most drive-through menus are about the same there are some not-so-subtle differences which can make or break your trip, so let’s look at our options.

Personal tastes aside, I can say that out of all possible fast food selections McDonald’s has everyone beat when it comes to consistency and overall cleanliness (meaning, McDonald’s food is least likely to stain your clothes by dripping ketchup and/or mustard, etc).

The least consistent franchise with the worst service is Hardee’s, which is sad as they are a North Carolina business which originated not too far from where I grew up (Rocky Mount).  Of the times I have visited any of their franchise locations, I had to wait at least 10 minutes for a simple order (and the worst part is that no one else was in line)!

Wendy’s is wonderful but you’d need to avoid lettuce and tomatoes to keep drippage to a minimum.  Otherwise, their menu is well balanced and service decent.

Burger King has a lot to offer.  The only complaint I have is that their service is typically surly.  It isn’t as bad as what you would experience at Hardees, but it is still unpleasant.

The messiest food to eat on-the-go is undoubtedly Taco Bell, but I do like their diversity – I can find something I actually want to eat there far more readily than at most other fast food establishments.

I could mention Pizza Hut, KFC, and Bojangles, but if you choose to eat fried chicken or pizza on the road you’re just asking for a mess.  Otherwise, I give a big “thumbs up” for all three.

I hope you will find my extensive research helpful when you are searching for a place to fill your belly while driving.  I’d love to hear from you if you have any fast food locations you’d like for me to examine – I am always up for a challenge!

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Adam  |  March 30, 2012 at 3:43 am

    I agree on the Hardee’s comment. It’s a shame too because I think their menu is actually quite a diversion from the average “fast food” burger joint. But it has always taken what seemed like an eternity to get your food whether your in Charlotte, Raleigh, Winston, wherever.

    • 2. sexyknees  |  July 14, 2012 at 9:08 pm

      Ha! I am glad to hear that I am not the only one who suffers from extremely slow service at Hardee’s. I wonder why this is the case?

  • 3. Homeopata  |  November 13, 2012 at 9:06 pm

    What’s up, I want to subscribe for this webpage to take most up-to-date updates, therefore where can i do it please help.

    • 4. sexyknees  |  November 19, 2012 at 5:56 pm

      Oh, good question. I think there is a button somewhere on the WordPress page which give you the option of subscribing. I’ll look for it and get back to you!


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Flickr Photos

 
