Discover What?

September 24, 2011 sexyknees
Tags:

Me "discovering" a new couch I may eventually buy!

I used to be an avid fan of the Discovery Channel as I was actually “discovering” something new and exciting every time I tuned in to their network.  Shows such as Man v. Wild, Mythbusters, Survivor Man, and many others would educate me on issues of importance, and I felt I was growing intellectually from the information they provided.  Unfortunately, this is changed.  These days, it seems that every single time I turn to the Discovery Channel I am watching yet another episode of American Chopper or Deadliest Catch, from which I gain absolutely no mental stimulation.  I want to discover the universe, learn how to survive the end of the world, identify deadly snakes, and other tidbits of information relevant to my life – not how the local Chinese buffet gains is crabs legs or listen to people squabble over how to design choppers I will never own.  It seems to me that the Discovery Channel has sold out to the bottom line, and that is truly sad for those of us who actually wish to learn something useful.  Perhaps it is time we let the CEO of the American Chopper Channel know that there are more important things in life than money and pointless drama.  Don’t get me wrong – the new shows are entertaining and enjoyable to watch, but so is America’s Next Top Model.  Let CW take the shows that mentally drain us and keep Discovery a place of escape for those of us who wish to learn!

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dana  |  September 24, 2011 at 9:38 pm

    Reality shows are the cheapest to produce so this maybe a sign of the times.

    • 2. sexyknees  |  November 29, 2011 at 3:05 pm

      You are absolutely right. I cannot stand your standard reality shows as they replace really good shows and teach us nothing. The bottom line seems to be all that matters, anymore. Sad, isn’t it? Thank you so much for sharing, Dana!

  • 3. GARGANTA PROFUNDA  |  September 24, 2011 at 10:16 pm

    SO SEXY SO HOT
    I LOVE YOU

    • 4. sexyknees  |  November 29, 2011 at 3:02 pm

      Thank you for the compliment, Garganta Profunda!!!


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Flickr Photos

Dolus D'Oléron

golden morning

Im Gegenlicht

More Photos
 
