Turn Off the TV and Talk with Your Neighbors!

September 16, 2011 sexyknees
Tags:

Showing off...For My Neighbors!

Several summers ago we endured a lengthy power outage when a car ran into a power pole and severed the line down the street.  The entire neighborhood was without energy, and the only respite we had from the darkness and heat was the great outdoors.  Slowly but surely one neighbor after another ventured outside and thus began the acquainting of new friends whom previously were nothing more than strangers.  Due to a simple power glitch our apartment complex transitioned from being a place of relative individual isolation to a neighborhood, and we have remained close ever since.

Knowing your neighbors is not an inconvenience.  That nosey individual with whom you have avoided eye contact could be the best free asset for home protection into which your only investment is a little conversation time.  For instance, the annoying guy whom walks his dog at midnight and fails to pick up his puppy’s poop could be your hero and best friend if you are being mugged.  And that old lady whom likes to call the cops every time someone’s stereo is too loud might be your lifeline to the cavalry if she hears someone moving your stuff into a van when you are out of town.

Neighborly relations isn’t all about self-preservation, however.  I’ve come to realize that all communities harbor individuals whom come from a wide variety of backgrounds, and each one has amazing stories to tell.  By getting to know the people around you, you are enriching your own life by listening to completely unique Spielbergian adventures.  Perhaps a few will inspire you to try something you’ve never considered!  I recall one lady at my friend’s complex whom everyone avoided because she would not stop talking once she started.  I understood, however, that she was simply lonely and needed a compassionate ear to hear her tales.  I sat with her and listened to the most amazing recounting of historical events worthy of Herodotus himself.  She rekindled my passion for adventure, and thus began a new era of exploration which brought me to you today!

We were lucky – we were forced to mingle and socialize on that hot summer night back in 2009.  Don’t wait for your power to fail before getting to know the people whom live next door.  They could be your new best friend, your hero, your inspiration, or perhaps some long-lost relative – the point is, you will never know until you take the time to find out!

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kw1970  |  September 17, 2011 at 2:28 am

    Nikki ,, I would LOVE to be your neighber 🙂

    • 2. sexyknees  |  November 29, 2011 at 3:54 pm

      Thanks, ky1970! I am pretty sure a lot of others feel the same. I’ve never asked my neighbors if they enjoy having me around, so maybe I should!

  • 3. Adam  |  March 30, 2012 at 4:28 am

    My wife and I met an older couple years ago simply by stopping while walking our dog. They were in their seventies. Came to find out that their daughter had died after they had moved to Carolina to be near her. They were very reclusive and lonely at first. 10 years later and many nights drinking coffee or cocktails we watched as our daughter called them aunt and uncle and I was honored to be among the gentlemans pall bearers at his exit fom this life. Don’t turn away an opportunity to reach out to someone. Life is truly too short not to.

    • 4. sexyknees  |  July 14, 2012 at 8:00 pm

      I am 100% with you on this. That being said, the reason I wrote this blog is because I suffer from the pain of having made the wrong choice too many times. In particular, I used to have an elderly Czech couple who lived in the apartment above mine. They were extremely nice and generous people and always invited me up for dinner. I accepted only twice. Countless times the husband would be outside tending to his plants and would try to engage me in conversation, but I was always in too much of a hurry. I’d tell both him and myself that we would catch up, knowing that there would always be a tomorrow. Then, one day, tomorrow never came. Paul had to drive south to take care of a rental house they owned and in the early morning fog rounded a bend on I-95 and slammed into a semi which had rolled over only minutes earlier. We never caught up and I never had the chance to say “goodbye.” This is only one of many examples. Take life slowly, smell the roses, and always spend time with people who want to be with you – you never know if it may be the last opportunity.


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Flickr Photos

A Wave Of Colour

Zellstruktur oder Lebenslinien.

broken star stopper

More Photos
 
