Nikki on: the Benefit of Being Ignorant

July 30, 2011 sexyknees
Tags:

We are all guilty of being ignorant – sometimes intentionally but most of the time because we do and/or speak without knowledge.  I am certainly guilty of both.  If I ever do or say anything which you find offensive, or simply get the facts wrong on any of my posts, I encourage you to bring it to my attention.  I seek enlightenment and the ability to discuss issues intelligently, so I welcome your thoughts and opinions.

I initially started this blog to promote my book, Sexy Knees.  Since then I have used my spot on WordPress to educate beyond my original boundary and provide you with information on issues from Albania to the Zulu War of 1879.  At the same time, I have enjoyed reading your responses and gained quite a bit of knowledge from this experience.  Lets keep our dialogue alive and learn more about each other.  I truly welcome all comments – we are all different and every single point-of-view is both unique and valid.

There is a benefit to being ignorant – it gives us the opportunity to realize our deficiencies and improve ourselves.  Sadly, we are usually unaware of said deficiencies until we’ve made an ass out of ourselves, but keep your chin up – its good to laugh at yourself and an earnest apology carries a lot of weight!

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dana  |  July 30, 2011 at 4:08 pm

    Well said. Being enlightened/corrected can be very humbling but I’d rather someone straighten me out then allow me to continue to be ignorant of my mistake.

    • 2. sexyknees  |  August 9, 2011 at 1:12 am

      Thanks, Dana! I wish people could be more direct and blunt in order to help others avoid future embarrassment, but the usual lack thereof helps keep us on our toes.


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Flickr Photos

 
