A Fond Farewell to my Old Friend, Borders Bookstore

July 30, 2011 sexyknees
Tags:

Goodbye, Borders!

I come from a family of readers.  We absolutely love the look, smell, and feel of books.  We are literally surrounded by them and could easily create a library (or a fort) if we so chose.  It is for this reason that my entire clan is lamenting the loss of Borders Bookstore.  We used their coffee shop to discuss family business, perused the history section for knowledge and comfort, and purchased hard-to-find movies from their Information kiosk.  To us, Borders was more of a friend than a business, and it will be sorely missed.

I know we do not stand alone with our fear that electronic books will replace our dog-eared companions and do away with the remaining Meccas of literary kinsfolk.  Like a fine wine, a good book only improves with age – no matter how you dress it up, a shrunk-down laptop will never look or feel as impressive as a 100 year-old copy of the Bible or War and Peace.  And it is always nice to be in the company of other readers.  Though the ideal that was Borders is but another casualty on a long list of beloved American traditions that are rapidly being replaced by cold, emotionless technology, we plan to keep paper books alive by handing down our mighty collection from one generation to the next – and by avoiding the Nook, Kindle, etc, no matter how hard they push their products.

So goodbye, old friend.  We will miss you.  Barnes and Noble will never quite replace your ambiance and/or customer service.

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kw1970  |  August 2, 2011 at 1:21 pm

    Well put Nikki !

    by the way ,, lookin Beautiful here ! ! !

  • 2. Kevin Wheeler  |  September 25, 2011 at 5:56 am

    I have tons of books. I have had to let another ton or so of books go. Maybe not an actual ton but I have seen a great number of books come through the door of my home. Sometimes I liked to go to a bookstore and just look. No interest in particular would draw me there but I would go. Sometimes standing, and other times leaning or squatting in the aisles just looking at all the books. This has been a form of entertainment just as much as visiting antique stores has been. This priviledge is being taken away and I already miss it. At least we will have libraries for a while I hope.
    This is not a good thing.

    • 3. sexyknees  |  November 29, 2011 at 3:02 pm

      I agree, Kevin. Book stores have always been so much more than just a place to buy books. They also served as libraries, gathering spots, hosts of speakers and bands, an much more. Since Borders left our area I have not entered another book store since. This is a very sad event for a bibliophile such as myself. I share your fear for the loss of our nation’s libraries, too. Though I do not utilize them, I deeply appreciate the presence of community libraries as they provide reading material for those whom cannot afford to purchase and lack the internet. They deserve access to books just as much as the rest of us!!!


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Flickr Photos

 
