Nikki on: Special People

July 24, 2011 sexyknees
Tags:

My brother liked hats...and hockey!

I grew up in a small NC town with wonderful people full of love and old-fashioned southern respect.  Super-sweet tea and chili dogs were on the nightly menu in pretty much every home except my own.  No – we weren’t heath food nuts or enjoyed potatoes and/or sushi more than the flash-fried delicacies of our neighbors.  Rather, we had to limit our sodium intake due to my brother’s health problems.  See, my brother was born with a deadly mix of leukemia and Down’s Syndrome, and any quantity of salt would have quickened his demise.  The heart-warming part was that, regardless of their lack of experience with handicapped kid’s such as my brother, the community around us had no problem accepting him and regulating their diets to let him know that he was loved and respected.  Nice, huh?  That’s NC for you!

Though he was supposed to have passed by his 4th birthday – as was declared by top doctors at Duke – my brother lived a long and happy life until he departed us at 19.  His unexpectedly long life was due in part to how we as a family stuck together and helped each other as best we could.  The other part was the wonderful people around us whom lent us a hand as much and as often as possible.  Their love along with ours gave my brother strength, and the happiness he felt from our presence in his life turned what could have been a very sad and lonely existence into one which was full of joy and adventure.

After my brother – with whom I shared a very special bond – died, I was left with a void that I could only fill with charitable pursuits to help anyone and everyone in need.  But it wasn’t until I met other special people like him that I understood the beauty inside those with Down’s Syndrome.  I began to see that there was a light that shined inside them that was brighter and more loving than within us normal folk.  I’m not sure where it comes from, but this light – this spark – is hard to ignore once you realize that it is there.  You could learn a lot about life and love by spending time with someone whom has Down’s Syndrome that you can’t find elsewhere, and I highly recommend that you do.  In my opinion, their love is so pure and unconditional that it is about as close as you’ll get to God without actually being in heaven.  So please, when you see someone with Down’s Syndrome, take a moment to say “hello” and let them know you see them.  Their response will warm your heart and make your day…just as much as you make their’s!

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ky Erickson  |  July 24, 2011 at 11:35 pm

    fantastic blog Nikki. Thank You for letting your fans into a special part of Your life. i grew up helping with a riding for the handicap program that one of my neighbors ran from their barn. i had the chance from a young age to learn how normal, yet special, people with mental and physical handicaps could be.

    • 2. sexyknees  |  July 28, 2011 at 3:00 am

      What a wonderful program you worked for, Ky. I am so happy to the more people committed to helping those with special needs. America really stands out in that way, and it makes me proud of my countrymen for being so open-hearted. You are a great person, Ky, and thank you for writing!

  • 3. kw1970  |  July 25, 2011 at 2:19 am

    I concur on this one ! Makes one think ALOT more of people other than like they say ,,, People are scared of what the Dont know ,, OR Understand ! ”

    By the way,, Beautiful photo of you Nikki :O)

    • 4. sexyknees  |  July 28, 2011 at 2:58 am

      Thank you for responding. And thanks for the compliment!!!

      • 5. kw1970  |  July 29, 2011 at 1:57 pm

        your More than welcome :O)

  • 6. stuart coward  |  July 27, 2011 at 7:23 pm

    you have brighten my day, so well put.
    thanks Stuart

    • 7. sexyknees  |  July 28, 2011 at 2:57 am

      You are so very welcome, Stuart!!! It means a lot to me that my words brightened your day!


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Flickr Photos

Im Gegenlicht

All the Colorful Stories

happiness

More Photos
 
