Happy Birthday America!

July 7, 2011 sexyknees
Tags:

I wanted to have two giant shower cones going off on either side of me but didn't have time to re-shoot due to a pending thunderstorm!

Okay, by now you may have noticed that I am occasionally late with my holiday blogs.  Better late then never, however, and in this case for good reason.  I posted a notice on my Flickr page announcing that I needed to sell 10 copies of my erotic autobiography Sexy Knees in order to afford another photo shoot.  Well, I finally reached my goal this weekend and was able to schedule a session with my photographer to take some Independence Day pictures!  Sadly, they didn’t turn out as well as I had hoped due to a pending thunderstorm, but at least I was able to take a few.

I love the 4th of July for several reasons, first and foremost because it celebrates the birth of the greatest nation on earth.  I’ve traveled the world extensively and have lived in quite a few countries, so my point of view comes from experience than blind patriotism.  Though I may complain a lot about our government – especially how our education and penal system need a complete overhaul (I’ll get into those issues in another blog) – I love and appreciate how I am able to complain about our country and face no repercussions.  I have the opportunity to change what I dislike about our system and actually make a difference – just one person can alter the course of the nation, and that makes America a very wonderful place.  Amongst all the countries in the world, ours is where an individual can truly chart his or her own course.  Who you are, where you come from, the color of your skin – none of that truly makes a difference.  You are allowed to be who you are and make of yourself whatever you wish.  The hand you are dealt does not determine your destiny – you, and only you, makes that choice.  Lets just be sure to keep it that way!

I also love the 4th of July because it is another opportunity for me to spend time with friends and family – both of which mean the world to me.  Any chance I get to be amongst the ones whom I love I cherish.  In preparation for our Independence Day celebration my brother and I occasionally travel down to SC to purchase fireworks as it is illegal to buy firecrackers and rockets in NC.  We then spend the evening with my mom and dad cooking steaks and blowing up a wide assortment of Chinese-made explosives (another gripe for a future blog), filling the air with brilliant colors and the smell of gunpowder (which I love).

Finally, the 4th provides all of us Americans, natural, immigrant, and illegal, to celebrate together the freedom we all enjoy.  We are a country of many nations…many cultures…and all of us both belong here and deserve the chance to be a part of this wonderful melting pot of liberty.  I cringe whenever I hear someone say, “I’m an American and he/she don’t belong here” (and yes, the grammatical error is intentional) because not one of us…not one…is a true native American except for…of course…the native Americans, thus no one has the right to declare that someone doesn’t have the right to be amongst us in this country.  I am half Japanese and half Irish, but am first and foremost an American.  All are welcome lest we forget the statue of Liberty whom greeted so many with the inscription, “Give me your tired, your poor, your huddled masses yearning to breathe free, the wretched refuse of your teeming shore.  Send these, the homeless, tempest-tossed to me.  I lift my lamp beside the golden door.”  – Emma Lazarus.

So Happy Birthday, America!  May you forever be free.  Though I may have done my part in protecting our nation from harm, in all honesty that job is never over.  Whenever our liberty is in jeopardy, it is up to all of us, no matter where we may have been born, to do what we must to ensure that our great nation’s light of freedom forever shine.  Please protect America and for what it stands so we may continue to celebrate our country’s birth by blowing up a small part of it!

PS:  I’m cringing in my photo because those little sparklers sting like the dickens (an expression meaning “stings like the devil” from the late 1500s) when you are basically naked!

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ky Erickson  |  July 7, 2011 at 10:09 pm

    great blog Nikki! you certianly showed true Patriotism in this blog. i think anyone who truely loves this country knows it isn’t completely perfect, but loves the country because of those imperfections.
    btw, cant wait to see your new piccies! did you have a chance to take any piccies of you wearing glasses??????

    • 2. sexyknees  |  July 7, 2011 at 10:28 pm

      Hi Ky! First of all, I want to thank you from the bottom of my heart for always being so quick to read my blogs and send a comment. I can always count on you for making my day!!! I am sorry but no, I have not taken any new pics in glasses as I can’t afford to get them just yet (remember – they were run over by a car!). As soon as I can get a new pair I will definitely wear them for you!!! You deserve a special photo. By the way, we need to talk about our plan. Lets call each other soon!

      • 3. Ky Erickson  |  July 7, 2011 at 11:16 pm

        can you give me a call sometime tomorrow Nikki?

  • 4. kw1970  |  July 12, 2011 at 6:52 pm

    Dang you look Beautiful in this Nikki !


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Flickr Photos

A Wave Of Colour

Zellstruktur oder Lebenslinien.

broken star stopper

More Photos
 
