Holiday Cheer!

January 3, 2011 sexyknees
Tags:

Taken during my heavier days - 135 lbs!

I have been posting some older photos of myself wherein I am sporting an extra layer of holiday-oriented “padding.”  This cheer – which consists primarily of red velvet cupcakes and pecan pie – kept me warm in the winter of 2003 and I am once again carrying around some additional “cuteness” to get me through this holiday season as well!

Whenever I am happy I tend to eat..and eat a lot!  I have the unfortunate schedule in that most of my family’s birthdays are in September and October, and soon thereafter are Halloween, Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Year’s Eve – all of which brings about a lot of family togetherness and the subsequent restaurant-hopping.  I typically gain roughly 3 to 4 pounds during the holidays and this season is no exception!  The issue here, however, is not the result but rather the journey.  As Buddha said, “It is better to travel well than to arrive.”

Below are some items of overwhelming deliciousity which have been the main contributors for my annual expansion project.  If you haven’t experienced them I highly recommend you give them a try!

1)  Gooseberry Pie:  A tart but flavorful pie made from – you guessed it – Gooseberries.  I tried a can of these wonderful berries by themselves but this didn’t fare well.  In a pie, however, they are awesome!

2)  Strawberry-rhubarb Pie:  Another tart but flavorful pie.  Rhubarb comes in red stalks and are terrible when you eat them alone, but when mixed with a ton of sugar and some strawberries it becomes a fantastic dessert item.

3)  Mincemeat pie:  a favorite of the English.  I won’t go into the ingredients of Mincemeat, but can say that when compared to other quaint British desserts this one shines above them all.  It is definitely sweet and is unlike any of our domestic delicacies.  Best served warm.  Try it – you might like it!

4)  Pecan pie:  I’d be pretty surprised if you haven’t had a slice of this southern delight, but it not you really should.  Made primarily from pecans, this sweet dessert item is best served warm and immediately following a turkey dinner!

5)  Abyssinian Ethiopian Restaurant of Raleigh, NC (www.abyssiniarestaurant.net):  A fantastic restaurant and definitely amongst my very favorite of the ethic cuisines.  Abyssinia offers wonderful dishes – all of which are served in a traditional manner (using bits of bread called Injera to collect food rather than a fork).  Be sure to wash your hands before eating!

6)  Mawa’s Taste of Africa Restaurant of Morrisville, NC (www.mawa-nc.com):  This recent addition to the RTP list of international cuisines offers dishes from a wide variety of sub-Saharan cultures.  Try anything – its all good!

7)  Azurelise Chocolate Truffles of Raleigh, NC (www.azurelise.com):  I discovered this local chocolateer earlier last year and can say that Godiva has a new and substantial competitor.  All of the chocolate truffles offered by Azurelise are wonderful and have a distinct flavor worthy of savoring.  A box of Azurelise will bring a smile to anyone to whom you present it as a gift!

8) Casablanca Restaurant of Alexandria, VA (www.moroccanrestaurant.com):  A little out of the way if you are in NC, but Casablanca offers the best of Moroccan cuisine while presenting a wonderful floor show.  Amazingly talented and beautiful belly dancers will keep you mesmerized while you enjoy a 5 to 6-course meal worthy of a king and/or queen.  In particular, I enjoy the pillows on which you can recline and relax while awaiting the next course.  Its worth the drive – trust me!

9)  Red Velvet Cake:  A delicious red cake with a buttery vanilla frosting.  Need I say more?

Okay – that’s about it!  There are plenty additional restaurants I can mention which are just as good and equally dangerous to your waistline, but I kind of focus on the the above for the holidays.  In light of the late nature of this blog, I’ll be sure to fill you in on great Valentine’s day locations well beforehand so you can scout them out for a wonderful date night!

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ky  |  January 3, 2011 at 1:50 am

    very cool blog Nikki. if i ever make my way to the resturants ill certianly try them out. i know i love Peacan pie as well as Gooseberry and Red velvet cake. you have excellent taste!
    as always you show both intellgence and sexiness in all your blog entries. have a great 2011!!

    • 2. sexyknees  |  January 17, 2011 at 8:54 pm

      Thank you so much, Ky!!!

      • 3. ky  |  January 18, 2011 at 12:14 am

        *blows You a kiss* m’pleasure Nikki!


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Flickr Photos

 
