Writer’s Block!

October 20, 2010 sexyknees
Tags:

I have been sitting here at my computer – fingers at the ready – to start the opening page of my new book.  I stare at the screen and the memories are all right there for me to access, but they do not make it from the brain to the keyboard.  I guess I am really burned-out after writing two books in one year!  That being said, it is important for me to push through it as I am on a roll and don’t want to get bogged down.

Writer’s block is actually a serious issue.  I had it for 5 years and was lucky to get re-inspired to complete the books I have before me today.  If you are a writer like me I think I can safely say that writing anything…anything at all…will help keep you moving in a positive direction.  It is for this reason I keep my blog up to date (relatively) even if I don’t have much to say.  It keeps my mind and fingers focused on putting my thoughts down on “paper.”  I guess I see us literary folk as being somewhat akin to sharks – we either write and live, or stop and wither away.  (By the way, didn’t they prove that sharks actually don’t have to swim all the time?)

On that note I reiterate my desires in a previous blog:  I need a break – even if it is just a small one.  I can keep my blog going, but in order to tackle Double Bubble I think I need to blow off some steam.  Help me, my wonderful fans!  Send me your ideas as I love reading them!!!

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jim  |  October 21, 2010 at 4:36 am

    When I have writers block, I grab a pen and pad and head to a coffee house and write about what I see and hear…the people, what I’ve eavesdropped, etc. Maybe write a short story based on what I’ve observed. Its fun and gets the creative juices flowing. I’ve overheard some crazy stuff!

    • 2. sexyknees  |  October 21, 2010 at 9:34 pm

      What a wonderful idea! It is a little difficult for me to do as people tend to not leave me alone, but in general it sounds like a perfect way to keep writer’s block from setting in.


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Flickr Photos

 
