Shall I be a Woman of Color?

August 17, 2010 sexyknees
Tags:

Different photo, but same series as below

I have run into a small dilemma – of the publishers with whom I have spoken, all agree that it would be easier and far less costly to print my book in black and white.  I know this may sound obvious, but consider the photos.  I ask of you this:  would you rather see my pictures in color, or will they be just as appealing in b/w to save time and money?  Let me know what you think!

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ky  |  August 17, 2010 at 9:03 pm

    i know in a lot of books i own they will have pages with text in black & white, as well as the majority of the photos. but then in the middle they have maybe 10 pages with glossy paper and color photos.

    • 2. sexyknees  |  September 2, 2010 at 1:05 am

      I am leaning more towards color photos. I’d rather put my best foot forward, you know?

  • 3. Scott  |  August 18, 2010 at 2:39 am

    I would do what you have to, to get published. Your fans will understand. The comment above certainly has some merit.

    • 4. sexyknees  |  September 2, 2010 at 1:07 am

      Thank you so very much, Scott! I am leaning more towards color at this point as I want to put my best foot forward. Also, I’ve got the publisher selection down to 2 remaining choices. I will make my final decision this week!

  • 5. stuff911  |  August 18, 2010 at 4:43 pm

    Six in one hand,half a dozen in the other.
    For your pics Nikki,it simply doesnt’ matter
    You are so “easy on the eyes”.
    Furthermore,there is a surreal quality of focus in Black & White.
    Very classy.
    All hell woman,you are adorable.
    Save the money,print the book. for the Christ’s sake.

    • 6. sexyknees  |  September 2, 2010 at 1:07 am

      Ha! Thank you, stuff!!! It will be out as soon as I make my final decision on a publisher, which will be this week.

  • 7. Karma  |  August 20, 2010 at 7:21 pm

    Color! Your fans will pay the price. You can’t capture the exotic, colorful, sensuous Nikki in greyscale!

    • 8. sexyknees  |  September 2, 2010 at 1:09 am

      Thanks, Karma! I am leaning towards color as I wish to put my best foot forward. Besides, I am very careful about my lipstick color selection and it is hard to tell in black and white.

  • 9. MrB  |  August 22, 2010 at 3:28 am

    I agree with KY – go check out a lot of biographies at the library – you’ll see that many of them have 1 or 2 color sections stitched into the middle. It would be a lot cheaper to print your book in black and white, and have a color section in the middle.

    • 10. sexyknees  |  September 2, 2010 at 1:10 am

      Thanks, Mr. B! Color it is!

  • 11. Billy  |  August 30, 2010 at 7:21 pm

    Dear Nikki,
    B&W could work just fine. I could be more “artsy” that way.
    BUT….you need to see the proofs first in their B&W format. Why? Because some photos just won’t translate to B&W that well. A good B&W photo needs sharp contrast to get your attention, and be effective. Color photos don’t need that quality.
    So you should look at the proofs in B&W and choose the ones with sharp contrast and good definition.
    Go to some websites of the early pin-ups like Betty Page. You’ll see what I mean.
    Luv ya…
    Billy

    • 12. sexyknees  |  September 2, 2010 at 1:16 am

      I agree completely, Billy. I am careful about my lipstick color and would hate for it to be lost due to lack of contrast. I am leaning towards color, anyway, as I want everyone to see me as I am!


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Flickr Photos

 
