Donate to Your Local Homeless Shelter

June 15, 2010 sexyknees
Tags:

Sometime in 2007...I think

I tend to travel a lot due to my work as a dominatrix and author.  In the course of these trips I stay at a lot of hotels.  I take my own shampoo and conditioner – I have very finicky hair – so I never use what they have provided.  However, I have a wonderful use for the hair and skin products given freely by the hotel:  I collect them and donate them to the local homeless shelter, Salvation Army, and women’s shelter.  These unfortunate souls are fellow human beings worthy of the same respect as you and I.  They deserve the right to be clean and feel good about their appearance.  It might not be much given their plight, but it might mean a lot to them.

So, whenever you are on the road and have unused shampoo, conditioner, and lotion at your disposal, think of your local shelters.  In addition to donating clothes, blankets, towels, and tents, think of the personal care needs of the homeless.  You may help truly brighten their day!

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ky  |  June 15, 2010 at 3:48 am

    a beautiful blog Nikki. i personally spent some time in my younger days in a shelter or 2 and people like yourself made my life much better, and made me want to pull myself out of situation i was in. You are a credit to humans, male/female/and tg!

    • 2. sexyknees  |  June 18, 2010 at 12:46 pm

      Thank you so much, Ky! I’ve always believed that everyone should do what they can to make this world a better place. If people truly helped others as much as they help their own without the constraint of borders, then much of our problems would vanish. We need a new way of thinking. For too long we have concentrated on ourselves, our families, our community, and our nation. Now it is time to begin thinking globally – how can you help the family in China or Bangladesh, for instance. Once we are able to let go of the borders in our minds, then the path to peace and prosperity will be revealed.


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Flickr Photos

 
